August 19, 2014

Josh Caffe & David Newton - All Gone (feat. Fi McCluskey) (Get Up Recordings)

Coming Soon From Get Up Recordings ------------------------------------------------------------------

1. All Gone (feat. Fi McCluskey)
2. All Gone (feat. Fi McCluskey) (DJ Spun Diva From the Deep Dub)
3. All Gone (feat. Fi McCluskey) (Boogie Balo Remix)

"Get Up Recordings continues to bring the heat this summer with “All Gone”, the latest track from London’s Josh Caffe & David Newtron, featuring backing vocals from fellow Londoner Fi McCluskey. The release also includes remixes from veteran producers DJ Spun and Louie ‘Balo’ Guzman. Josh Caffe is no stranger to Get Up Recordings. In 2013 he produced and released “Playing With The Maid” with Batty Bass head honcho Hannah Holland to much success. He is also no stranger to his fellow producer for this new single, David Newton. Josh and David have teamed up before to produce the double A-side track on Batty Bass Records, “As I Look” and “Let Love Ruin”. Josh is a prolific DJ in the London scene with two monthly parties in Dalston – one at the Ace Hotel and the other at Vogue Fabrics – and is no stranger to the Glastonbury, Lovebox, Farr Festival, and Summer Rites festivals. He has built a following with his trademark blend of self-assured bitch house, US house, and ghetto tech. David (a.k.a. Jeroen De Pessemier), an acclaimed synthpop musician, has toured the world with his band, The Subs. He has done remix work for La Roux, Alt J, Chemical Brothers, and Cassius, and has worked with and produced with such musicians as Azari & III, Philippe Zdar, Chat Blake, Etienne De Crécy, and Alex Gopher. This time they have enlisted the soulful powerhouse Fi McCluskey to turn out this silky smooth beautiful jam titled “All Gone”. Both Josh and Fi take turns with the vocals while the bass and keys get deep. The remixes highlight what is beautiful about the track. It gets re-worked by two legendary DJ / producers, DJ Spun and Louie Balo. As a curator for seven years for MoMa / P.S.1’s Warm Up Series and the All Night Rong parties with DJ Harvey, few have contributed as much to the ongoing vitality of electronic music in NYC in the new millennium as Rong Music label owner DJ Spun. In addition to his own production, as well as with Mark Bell as Blackspun, he has remixed for such people as Gavin & Robbie Hardkiss and Douglas J. McCarthy of Nitzer Ebb. Spun takes “All Gone” and strips it down to a simple and beautiful late night deep house dub. The second remixer is long time legendary producer Louie ‘Balo’ Guzman. His list of original and remix production work is endless, from his own label Battlewax Recordings, to The Ride Committee, to his work with Roxy. With releases on such labels as Tribal America, Nite Grooves, Nervous, and Eightball Records to such anthems as “Get Huh”, his house sound is unmistakable. Louie reworks “All Gone” with his signature style by taking bits of the vocals and working them into a frenzy and finally unleashing them on the build up while keeping the mix down deep."

Label and Artist Links:

August 11, 2014

audioJazz - Summer City Nights / My House (audioJazz Music)

Coming Soon From audioJazz Music ------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Summer City Nights (feat. Yvonne Gage)
2. My House Jazz-influenced harmonics and tech-inspired roots mix to create the distinct and eclectic sounds of audioJazz.

DJ Bai-ee and musicians Dirty Turk and K Koltz collaborate to create imaginative music inspired by the house scenes of NYC and Chicago. The audioJazz sound is deeply rooted in house music’s past but feels like something soon to come, ‘future old school’ if you will. The trio has ties to New York and Oakland but came together in Chicago, bringing each of their pronounced influences to the group. The result is an exploratory selection of deep house with an inclusive attitude, often featuring vocalists and musicians from across the country. Following up the more raw live tracked studio recordings of the '7 Inch Music Sessions', audioJazz provides a deep refresher with “Summer City Nights” and “My House”, newly prepped for vinyl release. "Summer City Nights" features the iconic voice of Yvonne Gage calling out for the return of summer nights after a long Chicago winter. Upbeat and hard-hitting, smooth soft pads, classic piano stabs, and a spongy bass line make for a '90s Windy City appeal. Starting off much softer, "My House" makes use of busy drums to propel the track forward before building into a swirl of psychedelic synths. audioJazz’s Dirty Turk steps in the booth to let everyone know whose house this is over a Juno bass that rides the line between deep and driving.

Label and Artist Links:

Steve Arrington - Without Your Love (Tummy Touch)

"Coming Soon From Tummy Touch ------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Without Your Love (12" Version)
2. Without Your Love (Dub Version)
3. Nobody Else But You (Opolopo Remix)

 Lately, after dropping off of the funk music map to answer a higher-higher calling, Steve Arrington has been revisiting his younger self, twenty plus years more mature. In his 20s he was a part of the '70s funk group Slave before branching off on his own. He had many hit singles in both capacities that would go on to be sampled by the top players in hip-hop (just check the credits on tracks by A Tribe Called Quest, Jay-Z, Snoop Dogg, N.W.A, etc). This isn't to say he isn't focused on his present self, having worked with Dâm-Funk for Stones Throw recently. It's very much a conversation -- one that the Tummy Touch label is helping to facilitate. Tummy Touch have put together a platform to release Steve Arrington's single “Without Your Love", as part of their upcoming collection Way Out 80 - 84. The song was started in 1982, but was put in the can and never finished or released. This year it was pulled out of the abyss and finally finished and mixed down. A sweet dub companion from Tim "Love” Lee is included which those graduated from the nu school of disco should flip out over. Also featured is another of Steve's tracks remixed by Opolopo (Tokyo Dawn / Local Talk) with modern 'umph,' done up totally '80s style. "Without Your Love" lets listeners know right from the start that Steve's still "got that vibe" and is "keeping it funky," picking up right where he left off. Lyrically, there's no doubt it's an uplifting tune and musically it's as heavy with funk as ever. A bass guitar rattles off with smooth licks on top and there's plenty of hand percussion adding to the lively feel of the groove. There's an instrumental included for those with alternative motives. Further adding to the choices, Tim "Love" Lee provides a dub sure to dovetail booties right for the dance floor. His version is everything anybody would ever want in a dub, extending it out spaciously into ten glorious minutes. It's not tough to imagine the field day a veteran DJ would have teasing it out with hands glued to the isolators. The plentiful and ever diverse Opolopo introduces a remix of “Nobody Else But You", another Steve Arrington gem. The vocals are the party favorite, delivered enthusiastically and sure to inspire a crowd to sing along, while Opolopo's production will bring out the best in step-then-clap boogie moves. In true G-funk fashion, the synths sound burnt out, squealing as they spin up a cloud of smoke. The sliding bass is rubbery as hell and the rhythmic guitar struts its stuff over top.

Label and Artist Links:

Hyde Park Cafe Aug. 22, 2014 Friday > chang bang with resident brian busto!